Lost Without Lost?

Lost ends tonight.  Does that mean we’ll all be found?

Keeping this Onion video in mind, I’ll try to resist rambling on as a fan.  I don’t want to make predictions – as if I could anyway.  I’ll just share how I came to be a Lostaholic.

I got involved when the show was broadcasting Season 3.  I decided to try a few episodes out on Netflix, no commitment, no pressure to buy more, while living in a yurt in a woman’s backyard in Santa Cruz, CA.  I’d like to say it started slowly, but I was a full-on addict from the start.  Many was the night I “just one more episode-”d into the wee hours of the morning, bundled up in front of the TV, wearing headphones because yurts are made from canvas and as I think I mentioned, I was camping in a lady’s backyard.  Have you read my finished manuscript?  Yeah, I’m pretty sure you haven’t because of this damn show.

Then I moved to Portland and discovered that they show each week’s episode at the Bagdad Theater, and being almost all caught up in my viewing, decided to join in the festivities.  What a treat to sit with a beer (and I don’t mean just like in no paper cup, I’m talkin about a glass of beer) and feed the addiction with a room full of fellow junkies, in particular good friends.  Tonight this will manifest in camping out like a Star Wars nerd before the doors open, saving seats for an hour, watching the 2 hour recap episode, then the 2.5 hour finale, finally stumbling out the door after some 6 hours of being fully Lost.

Even with a couple throwaway episodes (spider and diamond thieves anyone?), a couple misses (lame pouty Jacob history at this stage of the game, c’mon!), and a couple bummer character developments (has kick-ass-Kate done anything besides mope in the past few months?), this show has consistently amazed me.  Why is that?

In general I’m a fan of The Question, as opposed to The Answer, and this show delivers questions in spades.  For any one thing that gets explained, a hundred new mysteries get introduced – and golly if that doesn’t make for compelling TV as well as an accurate reflection of the spiritual search.

Speaking of spirit, there’s just heaps of mysticism and metaphysics and paranormal and some sex: again, all things I love.  As I see mystical elements become more and more prevalent – from soap operas to sitcoms to cinematic zeitgeists – I happen to think it’s indicative of humanity’s innate yearning for experiences of the non-ordinary, not as imagined story or escape but as affirmation of inner mystical awareness, that is channeled through these media owing to the passive consumer role we’ve been conditioned to adopt, but which still hints at potential for returning to an active practice of the metaphysical for all of us.

Lost is about to end and so comes a huge sense of loss.  Characters we project upon and get “to know” will disappear from our lives, and a community ritual on Tuesday evenings will end.  But hell, new things will arise (buckling down on the book…or…getting into the new V?), and we’ll get to walk out of the theatre and into the night with a thousand new questions.

Photographs by Noel Tendick, but not the Lost one.

Leave a Reply

