After the Storm

When I last wrote I was bound for New York City to run the marathon, packing running shoes and a lot of misgiving. An hour after I arrived in Brooklyn, they made the announcement that the race had been cancelled. It was the right and obvious call to focus the City’s resources on the suffering multitudes and not on a run. Finish line ponchos went to people freezing without power, New York Road Runners collected and donated millions of dollars, and runners staged a donation-based marathon around Central Park. I got to help a tiny bit with CityMeals, delivering some meals to elderly New Yorkers. And without the subway to zip around visiting various friends and places of interest like I normally would, I stayed much more local. (I ran across town to visit a friend and my favorite donut shop.) One night I wandered down to the water and found a haunting Lower Manhattan still without power. Even the Statue of Liberty was in darkness. I walked along the river, up to and across the Brooklyn Bridge.

 

 

After the Storm

 

After the Storm-2

 

 

After the Storm-4

 

 

After the Storm-5

 

 

After the Storm-6

9 thoughts on “After the Storm

  1. Wow. Incredible. What an intense and fortuitous (in terms of being a photographer) time for you to be there. How creepy and surreal as well. My heart goes out to everyone there. My child hood home is underwater. It’s so sad.

    • Wow, I’m sorry to hear that! Are your people all ok? The devastation out there is so vast. It’s incredible how one storm can come and change everything. It was so creepy to see that view of Manhattan – definitely not the place I’d want to be in the zombie apocalypse.

      • Yeah, my child hood home is screwed up, my people there are all alive but many are suffering. It’s really sad and scary. It got pretty nasty/ outlawish (if that’s a word) out there- people drilling into gas tanks to syphon gas, people stealing generators… lots of shit. It’s hard to wrap my head around it. Blach

    • It was a rough time and place to be, and I was not wholly interested in photographing personal devastation – the power outed buildings seemed the most appropriate to stand as signifiers, rather than people’s ruined homes. I know what you mean Sofia, thank you for your honest response.

Leave a Reply

